The adverts have arrived!

Just yesterday, I happened upon this essay in the NYTimes by William Gibson about the world according to Google – and today, looking at my recent post on Babylonian mathematics what do I see but an ad for Google!!  WordPress explains:

Note: To support the service (and keep free features free), we also sometimes run advertisements. We’ve tested a lot of different ad providers and currently use Google AdSense and Skimlinks. We try hard to make the ads discreet and effective and only run them in limited places. If you would like to completely eliminate ads from appearing on your blog, we offer the No-Ads Upgrade.

The upgrade costs about $30.oo per year.  I guess the free ride is over, but then, why should I expect to be given a good service for free?  Will I pay to be add-free?  I doubt it.  I’m pretty cheap.  Considering the content of my blog, it might be amusing to see how Google et al place ads on it.

BTW, the picture is by Kupperman, and anyone who reads this blog knows how much I love Kubrick and 2001!

One Response to The adverts have arrived!

  1. Ducky's here says:

    Maybe they can place an ad for NYC museum memberships.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

