Over the Shoulder…

. . . and into the future, or the past.

I watched 2001:  A Space Odyssey again a week ago, as I do around this time of year, and noticed something new.  When Dave Bowman is in the pod preparing to blast off the door and enter the main ship through the airlock, he goes through a series of maneuvers and turns his back to the camera.  Briefly, he looks partly over his shoulder and then counts down.

Later, when he’s in the space-time-evolution-warp, he breaks a glass, bends down, and looks back over his shoulder to see what is making that breathing noise… It’s him, of course.  The movement of the body is the same.

Today, I felt myself making exactly that move as I looked over my shoulder to back out of a parking space, driving my little four-wheeled pod.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

