la vie quotidienne…

Does anybody really understand this book?

pris1

I am fascinated by commuting, at least by mine.  Of course, in my thoughts always is that other commute, endlessly replayed in my inner television mind…

The view of the World Trade Center site that is glimpsed from the PATH train as it pulls into the WTC station is rapidly being obscured by construction.  I have caught it just in time!

Open use of a video camera is liable to lead to a delayed commute because of questioning by wary police officers, thus my inexpert clandestine camera work.

9 Responses to la vie quotidienne…

  1. troutsky says:

    Nice shoes.Your commute is like mine except I drive up along a river, over a 7000 pass and down along another river. And rather than tall buildings I see the Pintlers and Beaverhead Mtns. But other than that….

  2. lichanos says:

    Troutsky! You are a shoe-man? I knew we were sole mates!!

  3. Man of Roma says:

    Interesting and well done. It’s like I did the trip with you. I guess one can call it l’héroïsme de la vie quotidienne, no little thing. I used to do a lot of commuting too. Not that different, only that your NY urban reality is much bigger, which makes it less human (or maybe not).
    So your office is over Ground Zero. Where were you when the planes hit?

    • lichanos says:

      Fortunately, I did not work here then. I watched it on TV with the rest of the world. For meetings, I was downtown near the smoking rubble a week or so after that.

      NYC is an exciting place, but it is, I have come to feel, a very inhumane place. I can think of many great city centers I’d rather live in.

  4. Man of Roma says:

    A week only after that? So that means that from that window or a similar window you saw the ‘smoking rubble’. Horrible.

    I think everyone needs some escapism, especially if living in a big city. It helps to bear la vie quotidienne. I think I learned some foreign language also for mentally escaping from where I live.

  5. lichanos says:

    At the time, I worked in northern New Jersey, but frequently came to the city for meetings. About two weeks after the events, I was downtown, but you couldn’t get close to the site, only look down the street to it a block or two away. Huge pile of rubble – it smoked for weeks. Downtown smelled for weeks. I’m glad I was nowhere near it – even the stories of people who were nearby, saw it, and got away safely give me the creeps. A few people from my town were killed there, the brother of a co-worker, but I am fortunate not to have lost anyone close to me.

    As for escapism, yes, reading the classics, the sign-system of art has always been my way out…

  6. Che Bob says:

    I admit I love NYC. I spent about 4 weeks there in 1999 and loved it. I especially enjoy the block by block ethnic and cultural worlds. I remember one block being Ukrainian and the next being Cuban and the next being Irish. Only in NYC!

    Also, your commute reminds me of Europe. Professionals have time to read, and/or visit with fellow commuters, while out here in the West everyone is trapped in the bubbles of their cars, isolated and atomized from each other. Sitting at stoplights in their own little worlds…no possibility of talking. I believe this atomization (not being able to sit and actually share the same air with “others”) can lead to adding fear and mistrust of our neighbors. “Others” can be reified.

    At the same time, I like the wilderness and I hope you are able to escape once in awhile to nature and wilderness.

    Also, it’s amazing you are so close to the WTC ground zero!

  7. cigi says:

    A great idea and well executed. So different from most commutes out here in Southern California. The hours and hours we waste stuck in traffic! The subway/light rail helps a little but mostly it’s too little, too late in my opinion. And yes, your shoes are very nice. 🙂

  8. lichanos says:

    So glad you liked it.

    I hate to drive to and from work! Commuting times here in the NYC region are among the longest in the country, but a good portion of that is on train and buses, not behind the wheel. SoCal is beyond remediation, I think. Best thing would have been to take the billions spent on the subway and created a vast electric bus network. Freeways would still be crowded, but there would be a choice at least.

    I keep my videos rough, partly by choice, mostly by laziness. There is a link under my walrus portrait to others, most of which are scattered about this blog.

    Thanks for visiting!

    P.S. More shoes, etc.

Leave a Reply

