Phil Spector Resurrected…*

This song (Se telefonado)  may be the quintessence of European pop music, but for American Pop, I’d go with this one:

Ronnie of The Ronettes was married to Phil Spector at the time he was making this and other songs hits with his “Wall of Sound” style.  Now he’s in jail for murder, not likely to rise yet again.

*I been Phil Spectored, resurrected.
I been Lou Adlered, Barry Sadlered.
Well, I paid all the dues I want to pay.
And I learned the truth from Lenny Bruce,
And all my wealth won’t buy me health,
So I smoke a pint of tea a day.

Paul Simon

One Response to Phil Spector Resurrected…*

  1. Man of Roma says:

    Delightful song. I remember it so well (we had an Italian version too, though sung by who I forgot.)

    As far as ‘Se telefonando’ I have translated it for you in a comment to that post of yours.

    Ciao

Leave a Reply

