Date in history

Today is the first night of Hanukkah, that minor historical commemoration that American Jews have transformed into a non-Christian Xmas, just to get into the holiday spirit.  David Brooks, the muddle-headed conservative columnist I used to love to hate (I stopped reading him, so now I don’t care what he writes.) actually had a decent column about the history of the day – maybe his niche is really popular historical writing.  Anything but present-day affairs.

Just a remembrance of a revolt of religious fanatics, Jewish ones (fundamentalists?) against those lovable, rational, cultured, Hellenizers who were ruling Judea at the time.  Lots of Jew-honchos thought the way to go was to get with the Greco-civilization program, but Judas Maccabeus disagreed.  He and his terrorist crew decided to kill off the collaborators and make things hot for the Greeks.  Well, that’s my reading of it, and I tend to side with the moderates. 

Miracles and God, and candles burning on despite the lack of oil, that was all embroidered on later.

4 Responses to Date in history

  1. Man of Roma says:

    I read the column. It is very good. Phillip Cary thinks of the “Western culture” as a human body, the left leg being ancient Athens and Rome, the right leg the Bible, Moses and Christ. The metaphor goes on up to the entire body and you can read it here:

    http://andreaskluth.org/2009/11/03/the-heart-of-the-western-tradition-dante/

    The encounter & contrasts between these two traditions interest me more and more. So thank you for telling me about the Maccabees. It is probably a turning point I have to study..

    Merry Hanukkah, then, Lichanos!

  2. Man of Roma says:

    I might make a post out of some of the conversation around your 2001 post, if you allow me. Everything of course well linked and credited, as it is my habit.

  3. lichanos says:

    Thanks, MoR!

    Watch for my Christmas post!

  4. Man of Roma says:

    I will.

    Ok, so I’ll soon post what I’ve said. I’ll cut what I deem necessary, although adding [...].
    It will be my next post, although I never know where my quirks are taking me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

