Cloisters of NYC

In keeping with my plan to visit the Metropolitan Museum once a month, I spent an hour at The Cloisters today.  This is the uptown branch of the Met that houses a large collection of medieval objects in a building resembling a monastery, and with multiple courtyards and interiors of European abbeys that were transported here and reconstructed.  It sits in the midst of a park on highlands overlooking the Hudson River Palisades and northeast Manhattan, and it is the only museum in Manhattan where I can drive up and park at the front door anytime I want.  The trip from my home takes about fifteen minutes.

I like to visit museums for short periods, or exhaustion sets in.  Since I can go often, I can look at a few things each time and leave the rest for later.  Some of favorites that I viewed today:

7 Responses to Cloisters of NYC

  1. Man of Roma says:

    with multiple courtyards and interiors of European abbeys that were transported here and reconstructed

    Literally? You mean, original pieces transported and rebuilt?

    I wonder if that Ferrari is your car. Possibly not. The Italian forchetta I couldn’t download.

    I have saved almost all pics in one folder, ‘Lichanos’, subfolder of ‘Immagini di blogger’.

  2. Man of Roma says:

    I have inserted your saint’s arm bone picture into my new posting, with proper attribution of course. If you mind I’ll put another picture instead. Ciao

  3. Man of Roma says:

    BTW, you chauvinistic Italian, you, it’s a Porsche!

    Ooops! It’s just the color red’s fault!

Leave a Reply

