The good old days!

Loved this show as a kid.  Certainly, this is one of the most memorable sequences in popular TV.

9 Responses to The good old days!

  1. Ducky's here says:

    I was a “Lonesome Gun” fan. The Rifleman was fast but he better not pull on Vint Bonner.

  2. Man of Roma says:

    I don’t remember this particular one, but the Westerns as a genre, I loved them ALL! Not the later anti-hero of the 70s – I didn’t watch that type of films any more – but the real hero, quickest with pistols, with courage and honour, the people from Europe conquering the wilderness, the well distinct roles of the men and the women – that I loved – in their fight for survival, where the women were educators of the rough men as for manners, were cooking and taking care of house & kids, while the men hunted, fought, defended the damsels in distress & the family & the country – all that stuff, all that clear simple tough morality totally delighted me.

    • lichanos says:

      Yes, I know what you mean. I can understand why you don’t like the later anti-hero genre; sort of leaves a sour taste in the mouth.

      A very interesting western that you may know that is a fascinating combination of the traditional and the concerns that later dominated is The Searchers. John Wayne at his best, and I don’t consider myself a fan of his. Amazing cinematography, and themes of violence, racism, imperialism, etc. but in a “real” western!

  3. Man of Roma says:

    PS
    I know you were not referring to the Westerns in general. My comment was off-topic.

    No, not really off-topic. Comments always welcome!
    L

  4. troutsky says:

    The most morally confused genre ever.

  5. Man of Roma says:

    The most morally confused genre ever

    🙂

  6. […] that stuff, that simple but tough morality totally mesmerized us (we discussed Westerns *with Lichanos* a bit in […]

Leave a Reply

