I’m watching you

I ran up to the Frick Museum for a quick visit today, and of course, I took a long look at one of my favorite paintings.  I had never noticed that her gaze seems to meet yours, no matter whether you are standing to the right or the left of the picture.  It seems to follow you.  That sort of thing probably tickled Ingres.

One Response to I’m watching you

  1. An absolutely wonderful painting. I like the reflection of the back of the subject and the way she contemplates us as we contemplate her.

    Thanks for posting this.

Leave a Reply

