More and Zen

I have been hearing about the new movie, The Social Network, from all over the place.  My first question was simple:  How the heck does Facebook make money, anyway?  Again, the answer is simple – advertisements.  My next question was simple too:  Who cares?  Obviously, a lot of people.

I have a Facebook account, but I rarely use it.  I got it to keep up with my daughter when she was abroad.  I’ve read a lot of critical raves about the movie.  Joe Nocera’s in the NYTimes Business section was the most interesting:  he felt it was an excellent study of an important personality-type in our culture – the entrepreneur.  I get that, but I’m so un-entrepreneurial, that I have little interest in it.

On another planet, I have been reading an old book lately called How to Want What You Have.  It’s by a psychologist who approaches life from a Zen-Cognitive point of view, and it’s very down to earth.  I find that it encapsulates a lot of what I have been thinking for years.  One of the central, and novel ideas he proposes is that it is instinctual for humans to always want MORE.  He says spiritual-meditative-ethical discipline as going against the human grain, but he believes it is necessary because our evolved instinctual drives are out of synch with our culturally evolved existence.  The Buddha and innumerable religious thinkers agree.  I don’t know if his Darwinian take is valid, and I don’t even think it’s necessary, but that’s where he starts.

What brings me to Facebook & How to Want… is that they seem diametrically opposed.  Facebook is all about more, more MORE.  More “friends,” more “celebrity”, more chatter, more pictures, more connections…shading off into my own blog obsession with the number of hits to my site (down lately!)  Zen is all about letting go of more, more, More!

One thing about discussions of Internet “culture” in journalism that strikes me often is the constant failure to evaluate.  Journalism is all about filling columns and tickling readers to come back to read more.  Heavy questions are a turn off.  So in the New Yorker review of the new film, the author writes that Facebook recognizes that “we all treat each other now as packets” of information, not individuals.  Is this…dare I ask it, good?  Okay, it is a fact, it is popular, it might be fun, not everyone is obsessed by it, so…beyond the fact that it made some people fabulously rich, why care???

2 Responses to More and Zen

  1. Ducky's here says:

    His idea is important but I wouldn’t say it is novel.

    Schopenhauer, T. S. Eliot, the Buddha, all have something to say of the will as an active insatiable agent.

    Where would Kapital be without it?

    I guess he feels he has to explain the origin of the Will As Insatiable Agent, rather than take it as a given. It’s plausible, but since it’s so obviously true, not all that necessary, I think. Otherwise, all those other folks wouldn’t have noticed it pre-Darwin. Accumulate, accumulate! That is Moses and the prophets!

  2. DK says:

    I am on the fence about the Facebook movie. Before it came out, I really wanted to see it. I didn’t right away, and with the passing days I’m losing interest. Maybe five years from now it’ll be an interesting artifact, a comment on the culture of our immediate time.

    Regarding the culture of wanting, this TEDx video is pretty enlightening if you haven’t seen it already:

Leave a Reply

