I been Ayn Randed…

warholrand.jpg

“I been Ayn Randed, nearly branded
Communist, ’cause I’m left-handed.”

A Simple Desultory Philippic – Paul Simon

I have a fascination for what I regard as crackpot, but sophisticated intellectual systems, and the work of Ayn Rand falls in that category for me. I have never been able to read her ponderous, best-selling novels because I think she has no literary talent at all. My familiarity with her ideas comes from shorter pieces and secondary sources.

For the most part, old wine in new bottles, I say. With a little bit of high-flown metaphysics thrown in at the beginning to get the ball rolling. “A is A,” and if you grant this, all else follows. Yes, I love that phrase, so common in the crackpot world of polemical philosophers. They all have the key to the universe, so don’t bother arguing with them. I try now and then – you can see my attempts at this thread if you like. I think that this page, Become an Objectivist in Ten Easy Steps, however, is the best response to that group’s pretentious, intellectual puffery.

4 Responses to I been Ayn Randed…

  1. db0 says:

    Definitely. I have also grown a bit tired of having my arguments ignored. Since I’ve now been banned they cannot avoid me altogether.

    Meh

  2. […] Apparently my arguments have been soundly refuted and I’m in denial, even though others out there seem to not dissagree with me that much. Pity. I used to think that he was quite an intelligent and […]

  3. krishashok says:

    Ah. A fellow victim I see 🙂 A few months back, I also received a personal email from Ergo (the guy who banned db0) that urged me not to continue commenting on his blog because I was, to quote, a “slow thinker”. Oh well, I did, and a few days later, received another email calling me a “spineless bastard” because he believed that I was still continuing to comment anonymously 🙂

  4. evanescent says:

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again db0, your arguments weren’t ignored; they were simply refuted. I have no vested interest in trying to convince you of that, but others are free to review the links you provided and make their own mind up.

Leave a comment